Bitte Cookies aktivieren !!!
Telefon Mailorder Dodo Beach


Dances In Dreams Of The..
Interpret(en): Skull Defekts
Zusatzinformation: .. KNOWN UNKNOWN
EAN/UPC Code: 790377035810
Artikel-Nr.: THRILL358LP
Set-Inhalt: 1
Information: When The Skull Defekts entered the studio in the Spring of 2013 with
nothing more than a collection of loosely organized riffs, they set out
to record their most extreme, challenging rock record. Much to the
band's surprise, what emerged were their most incessantly listenable,
approachable songs to date. The Defekts merge the coarse vitality of
punk with the ritualism of folk dances to create music that is addictive,
wondrously discordant, and rooted in a belief in the overwhelming power
of pure sound. Dances in Dreams of the Known Unknown is the Swedish
group's third release as a quintet, with the legendary Daniel Higgs joining
Joachim Nordwall and Daniel Fagerstroem on vocal duties and acting
as the group's spiritual ringleader. The Defekts have long acted as the
backbone of the Swedish experimental underground, but since their 2011
breakthrough Peer Amid, the group has emerged at the vanguard of a new
wave of radical Scandinavian rock music alongside Iceage and the Posh
Isolation label.
From the opening patter of "Pattern of Thoughts" to the propulsive chants
of "Cyborganization," Dances in Dreams of the Known Unknown feeds
on the tension between lean and bright song production and the hefty,
sometimes surreal sounds produced by Nordwall and Fagerstroem's
guitars. Daniel Higgs' spontaneous, metaphoric poetry is as perplexing
as ever, but it is delivered with a clarity not heard since his days fronting
Lungfish. Album centerpiece "The Known Unknown" is centered around
a driving riff, with Nordwall turning the song's title into a mantra as intense
as it is transcendent. Throughout, the group anchors their riffs with exotic
sustained chords, adding a distinctly Carnatic flavor.
Nordwall's long history in the European experimental music community
serves to reinforce the group's place as one of the most forward-thinking
rock bands working in the continent today. In addition to running iDEAL
Recordings since 1998, Nordwall has released collaborative recordings
with Mika Vanio of Pan Sonic, Kevin Drumm, and Mats Gustafsson,
whose FIRE! Orchestra he recently joined. Although The Skull Defekts
have ceased to perform or record noise music, that adventurous spirit is
still a dominant part of their music.

Dances In Dreams Of The Known Unkown is the second rock
album from Swedish group The Skull Defekts again joined by
fifth member Daniel Higgs (Lungfish)
The Skull Defekts are one of the centerpieces of Sweden's
experimental rock scene and toured the world in support of
their last album Peer Amid
Daniel Higgs is the lyricist and frontman of Lungfish and has
a very extensive catalog of solo material. In addition to his
music Daniel is a highly respected visual artist
CD version comes in a 4 panel mini-LP style gatefold pack-
age with spot UV gloss printing. LP version includes an art-
worked inner sleeve and free download card. High gloss UV
printing on LP jacket. First 500 copies are pressed on clear
The band's previous album Peer Amid (Thrill 260) and the
limited 12"EP 2013-3012 (Thrill 12.48) both sold out quickly
on vinyl
Three videos will be serviced made by Henry Moore Selder
(videos for Robyn, The Hives, The Knife), Daniel Higgs, and
Joe Denardo (Growing)
The Skull Defekts will tour the US & Europe in support
"[The Skull Defekts] storm evokes some powerful post-punk
forefathers -- for starters, think of the rhythmic interplay
of the Ex and magnetic singer G.W. Sok, or the Fall's tight
repetitions in support of Mark E. Smith's rambling. Lofty
company, but The Skull Defekts have earned it." - Pitchfork

Erscheinungsdatum: 07.04.2014
Im Shop seit: 04.04.2014
Verfügbarkeit: Artikel sofort versand- oder abholbereit
16,99 EUR
BITTE BEACHTEN: Die Verfügbarkeit eines Artikels bezieht sich bislang ausschließlich auf unsere Filiale in Schöneberg. Wenn ihr wissen möchtet, ob ein Artikel im Dodo Beach East vorrätig ist, ruft uns bitte an ( 030 442 800 4) oder schreibt eine E-Mail an
Das könnte Sie auch interessieren
Eat Skull
(VÖ: 30.05.2013)

15,99 EUR
Eat Skull
(VÖ: 30.05.2013)

14,99 EUR
Live Skull
(VÖ: 16.05.2013)

23,99 EUR
Live Skull
(VÖ: 17.09.2013)

16,99 EUR
Java Skull
(VÖ: 26.09.2013)
Ten Inch  

9,99 EUR
Skull Defekts
(VÖ: 24.03.2009)
LP + Download  

21,99 EUR
Skull Defekts/sons Of God/
(VÖ: 16.07.2010)
LP + Download  

19,99 EUR
Skull Defekts
(VÖ: 03.11.2011)
Maxi Single  

16,99 EUR
(VÖ: 04.12.2014)

24,99 EUR
Latisha's Skull Drawing
(VÖ: 21.10.2016)

21,99 EUR
Skull Fist
(VÖ: 26.10.2018)

20,99 EUR