Bitte Cookies aktivieren !!!
A Beginner's Mind
Interpret(en): Stevens, Sufjan & De Augustine, Angelo
EAN/UPC Code: 729920164981
Artikel-Nr.: 00147605
Set-Inhalt: 1
Information: It's been said that writing about music is like dancing about architecture (impossible and absurd). But what about singing about movies? Sufjan Stevens and Angelo De Augustine have paired up for a collaborative project that does just that. A Beginner's Mind is their debut album that contains 14 songs (loosely) based on (mostly) popular films. The source material is highbrow, lowbrow, and everything in between. The music is folksy, sweet, sincere and harmonically effervescent-Simon & Garfunkel with New Age flourishes. This album runs the gamut and has fun with it, even while its songwriters remain fully rooted in the melancholy folk idioms they are known for. Daniel Anum Jasper, a pioneer of Ghanian movie poster painting, was commissioned to paint a series of new works for A Beginner's Mind. His paintings are a graphic simulacrum for the same sense of wonder, wordplay, and intrigue that shape A Beginner's Mind. By transforming old films into vital new songs, Stevens and De Augustine ask us to consider ourselves from a previously unconsidered vantage point-a new way of seeing and hearing-an exercise that's as necessary and relevant now as it's ever been.
Erscheinungsdatum: 22.10.2021
Im Shop seit: 20.10.2021
Verfügbarkeit: Sofort abholbereit/versandfertig
22,99 EUR
BITTE BEACHTEN: Die im Webshop angegebene Verfügbarkeit eines Artikels bezieht sich bislang ausschließlich auf unsere Filiale in Schöneberg. Wenn ihr wissen möchtet, ob ein Artikel im Dodo Beach East vorrätig ist, ruft uns bitte unter 030 30 10 6 80 80 an oder schreibt eine E-Mail an mit dem Betreff "Dodo Beach East".
Track Titelinformation Spielzeit
LP 1/1
001 Zusatzinformation REACH OUT
002 Zusatzinformation LADY MACBETH IN CHAINS
003 Zusatzinformation BACK TO OZ
004 Zusatzinformation THE PILLAR OF SOULS
005 Zusatzinformation YOU GIVE DEATH A BAD NAME
006 Zusatzinformation BEGINNER'S MIND
007 Zusatzinformation OLYMPUS
008 Zusatzinformation MURDER AND CRIME
009 Zusatzinformation (THIS IS) THE THING
010 Zusatzinformation IT'S YOUR OWN BODY AND MIND
011 Zusatzinformation LOST IN THE WORLD
012 Zusatzinformation FICTIONAL CALIFORNIA
013 Zusatzinformation CIMMERIAN SHADE
014 Zusatzinformation LACRIMAE